The Forest of Hands and Teeth

The first words I spoke upon finishing this book–about fifteen minutes ago–were ‘I can’t believe I read that entire book for that ending’.  My husband asked ‘it was THAT bad?’–and no, it wasn’t ‘that bad’.  I guess not, anyway.  It was a good book.  It held my attention for the past two days, and I finished it quickly–that typically means that I liked it.  And I went online to find out when the companion book–not sequel, companion book (see below for an explanation of that)–comes out.  So I must have liked it.  Right?

Here’s the problem with ‘Teeth’.  It was utterly unbelievable at times.  And it was a story that takes place under unbelievable circumstances; a basic summary of the book would be…girl lives in post zombie apocalypse, and living in a post zombie apocalypse, well…it sucks.  If this sounds like it is a horror novel, well, you’re wrong.  The zombies don’t seem to bother anyone–so much so that even while being pulled at by said zombies (though they ARE behind a fence) and even after watching your own mother turn into one (don’t worry, this is not a spoiler, it happens in the first ten pages), the main character still has time to contemplate why the boy she likes does not like her back.  So NOW you’re thinking ‘oh–well it is a funny story, then’.  Wrong again.  This book really takes itself seriously, even when moaning zombies surround a house harboring a teenage girl who is excited about her first kiss.  I mean seriously?

Ok.  Maybe I didn’t like the book.  Except that I DID like the book.  I am so torn.  I don’t know.  Read it yourself and come to your own conclusion.  Clearly I don’t have one of my own.

2 responses to “The Forest of Hands and Teeth

    • yeah…it was definitely not uplifting in any way. there was a lot of pondering of mortality. at several points i thought ‘yeah…i should really stop reading this or i’m going to be seriously bummed out very soon’.

Leave a Reply

