Carpe Diem

I bought this book months ago–right before I got my Kindle–and right AFTER I got my Kindle, reading books ‘the old fashioned way’ seemed so 20th century…so I didn’t even pick this book up again until last night.  And I’ve already finished it–so that says a lot!

This is the story of a girl named Vassar Spore–in case you didn’t know, Vassar is an extremely competitive college in New York (state, not city); the character was ‘named after’ this college.  Her mother is a life coach and her father is an efficiency expert, and she states her main life goals in the first chapter, which include but are not limited to graduating with a 5.3 GPA (this is actually possible–I looked it up) getting in to ACTUAL Vassar, and marrying a surgeon or lawyer.  She’s almost–ok totally–unbelievable as a character in the first third of the book.  But she’s forced to loosen up–and thus becomes more believable–when her grandmother blackmails her parents into letting Vassar (well, MAKING Vassar, really) accompany her on a summer-long trip through Southeast Asia.

I really liked this book–as I’ve said, I read it in less than one day–but am interested to hear if actual teenagers like it at all.  It seems like the kind of story you need a little life perspective to appreciate, but then again, a lot of young adults have much more life experience and perspective than I do, and I’m an ‘old lady’! To be fair, I cannot imagine anywhere I’d less like to visit than Southeast Asia, but halfway through this book I found myself google image searching the ruins of Angkor Wat (which is in Cambodia–I’d already checked out my globe to locate Cambodia!).  It looks like this…

Maybe this is a trip I will take some day.  And if a book can get me to want to visit Cambodia, well, that’s some book!

4 responses to “Carpe Diem

  1. On your review you said that your interested in what teen’s think about this book. If you were the author of this book, who do you think the audience is more tipically aimed at? For me i need something that will keep me turning pages and wanting to read more, i need it to really catch my attention and actually put my mind into the book. Do you think this is a book for me?
    ~devina

    • good question–and no, i’m not sure that you (or anyone your age, really) would love this book (at least not as much as i did). i think the author was TRYING to write for people your age, but actually ended up writing for people my age. i would not enthusiastically suggest it, no. but you could read the first few pages and decide for yourself.

  2. In your review of this book you said that she wanted to get into vassar and her name was Vasser ironic and would you reccomend this book for me because of what i like and how i read (i just had a feeling you probably picked up on this somewhat) And how on gods green earth is it possible to maintain a 5.3 gpa I’m only shooting for at least a C on all classes

Leave a Reply

